University of Southern CaliforniaReal Estate & Asset Management

Academic Departments

Our Leasing Managers are committed to providing USC departments with the best possible service when looking for space to accommodate their growing needs. Many USC departments and offices lease space in downtown Los Angeles. Preference is given to buildings and landlords who have gained LEED Certification and who make sustainability central to their operations.

Please see our FAQ section for answers to the most common questions about the leasing process. If your department is looking for space, please contact Peter Songster to receive a request for space form.

Leasing Documents should be addressed to:

  • University of Southern California
  • Real Estate & Asset Management
  • Attn: Lease Administration
  • University Park Campus, UGW-110
  • Los Angeles, CA 90089-7271
  • for FedEx/UPS, use zip code 90007

Service & Maintenance

If your department currently leases space from a 3rd party landlord and you have service or maintenance issues, contact our leasing managers. We can assist you with resolving a service or maintenance dispute. If it’s an emergency, then contact your landlords emergency contact number.

Market Statistics

The Casden Forecast Reports provide detailed information about real estate vacancy rates and lease rates for Los Angeles, Orange County and the Inland Empire, as well as individual submarkets

The UCLA/Anderson Forecast provides insight on the current trends in southern California commercial markets.

Typical Space Layout

spaceplan_thumb.gif

All space layouts are different and depend upon many factors including floor plate, leasable area, and office requirements. Below is a recent example of a 7,805 rentable square feet space build-out for a USC group. The entire process can take from 1 to 10 months, while the build-out can take 2 weeks to 3 months to finish, depending on improvements.

This particular build-out included:

  • 11 perimeter private offices averaging 136sf
  • 16 cubicles averaging 8’x8’
  • 2 – 10 seat conference rooms averaging 250sf
  • 2 storage rooms
  • 2 printer/fax areas
  • 1 break room
  • 1 copy room
  • 1 IT closet

Office Address & Phone

  • University of Southern California
  • Real Estate & Asset Management
  • 3335 S. Figueroa St, UGW-110 Los Angeles, CA 90089-7271
  • Phone: (213)821-3070
  • Fax: (213)821-3073

View Map

Info & Directions

Staff Directory

Laurie Stone
Associate Senior Vice President, Real Estate & Asset Management (213)821-3070, laurie.stone@usc.edu
Brian League
Executive Director, Real Estate Development (213)740-5467, brian.league@usc.edu
Melissa Schild
Executive Director, Land Use and Planning (213) 821-2256, melissa.schild@usc.edu
Peter Songster
Manager, Leasing & Project Management (213) 821-6308, peter.songster@usc.edu
Melanie Joseph
Manager, Leasing & Project Management (213) 821-4599, melanie.joseph@usc.edu
Lisa Rediger
Employee Housing Administrator (213) 740-7066, lisa.rediger@usc.edu
Dee Jackson
Associate Director/Property Manager/Tax Administrator (213)740-4895, djackson@re.usc.edu
Vacant
Assistant Director of Acquisitions & Gifts (213) 821-3070
Jose Ramirez
Facilities Manager (213)821-3006, jose.ramirez@usc.edu
Karisa Katsuki
Project Specialist (213) 821-2831, karisa.katsuki@usc.edu
Anita Loera
Administrative Assistant (213)821-2092, anita.loera@usc.edu
Cindy Wright
Executive Assistant (213)740-8221, cindy.wright@usc.edu