University of Southern CaliforniaReal Estate & Asset Management

Gifts & Donations

Real Estate & Asset Management Department coordinates with University Advancement and the Office of Planned Giving for gifts of both real estate and personal property to the University of Southern California. The university can accommodate many types of real estate gifts including out-right gifts, partial interests and restricted gifts such as life estates. Personal property gifts may include cars, boats, artwork, and other items of value.

There are two broad categories that gifts are generally made under: gifts that will be used by a school or department; and gifts that are to be sold. Both cases require that proper due diligence be done and steps taken to meet the university’s acceptance process prior to the university accepting the gift.

Generally, donations to the university are fully tax-deductable. The university is a non-profit, public-benefit organization and so gifts and donations to USC are considered charitable contributions. The Real Estate & Asset Management Department tries to accommodate all gifts, but some donations cannot be accepted. Additionally, each donation has particular tax guidelines to follow. Donors should contact their tax advisor or tax accountant when inquiring about their individual tax consequences.

For more information regarding types of gifts, the gifting process and donor requirements, please contact David Aghaei, (213-821-6312,daghaei@re.usc.edu) with your questions.

For additional information about ways to give to the university, please access the following links:

Link to University Advancement: http://www.usc.edu/giving/ways/

Link to Planned Giving: http://www.plan.gs/Home.do?orgId=327

Office Address & Phone

  • University of Southern California
  • Real Estate & Asset Management
  • 3335 S. Figueroa St, UGW-110 Los Angeles, CA 90089-7271
  • Phone: (213)821-3070
  • Fax: (213)821-3073

View Map

Info & Directions

Staff Directory

Laurie Stone
Associate Senior Vice President, Real Estate & Asset Management (213)821-3070, laurie.stone@usc.edu
Brian League
Executive Director, Real Estate Development (213)740-5467, brian.league@usc.edu
Melissa Schild
Executive Director, Land Use and Planning (213) 821-2256, melissa.schild@usc.edu
Peter Songster
Manager, Leasing & Project Management (213) 821-6308, peter.songster@usc.edu
Melanie Joseph
Manager, Leasing & Project Management (213) 821-4599, melanie.joseph@usc.edu
Lisa Rediger
Employee Housing Administrator (213) 740-7066, lisa.rediger@usc.edu
Dee Jackson
Associate Director/Property Manager/Tax Administrator (213)740-4895, djackson@re.usc.edu
David Aghaei
Assistant Director of Acquisitions & Gifts (213) 821-6312, david.aghaei@usc.edu
Jose Ramirez
Facilities Manager (213)821-3006, jose.ramirez@usc.edu
Karisa Katsuki
Project Specialist (213) 821-2831, karisa.katsuki@usc.edu
Anita Loera
Administrative Assistant (213)821-2092, anita.loera@usc.edu
Cindy Wright
Executive Assistant (213)740-8221, cindy.wright@usc.edu